• English Language
  • Indonesian Language
  • Makassar,Indonesia


Faculty of Law was officially established on March 3, 1952 based on the Decree of the Minister of Education and Culture No. 3399 / Kab, dated January 30, 1952 under the name of Faculty of Law and Community Knowledge. Initially, the Faculty of Law, Faculty of Economics, and Faculty of Medicine are a branch of the Faculty of Law and Community, Faculty of Economics, and Faculty of Medicine University of Indonesia. These three faculties then became the forerunner to the birth of Hasanuddin University on September 9, 1956.

The successful establishment of the Faculty of Law and Community Knowledge at that time, can not be separated from the strong efforts of the college fighters who are members of the Higher Education Institution in Makassar led by JE Tatengkeng and friends, and received full support from both local leaders and leaders of political parties  in Sulawesi at the time.

The first Dean of the Faculty of Law and Community Knowledge held by Prof. Mr. Djokosoetono, where at that time the Faculty of Law Hasanuddin University is still a part of the Faculty of Law University of Indonesia. After Prof. Mr. Djokosoetono, the next dean is Prof. Mr. C. De Heern, then continued by Prof. Drs. G. H. M. Riekerk. In 1956 under the Leadership of Prof. Drs. G. H. M. Riekerk (1955-1958), Faculty of Law no longer a branch of the Faculty of Law University of Indonesia, but has stood alone as the Faculty of Law and Public Knowledge under the auspices of Hasanuddin University. Thus, the Dean of Faculty of law of Hasanuddin University in the following order:
1. Prof. Drs. G. H. M. Riekerk (1955-1958)

2. Mr. Sutan Mohamad Syah (1958-1959)

3. Prof. Dr. Ph. O. L. Tobing (1959-1961)

4. Mr. Sutan Mohamad Syah (1961-1962)

5. Prof. Tahir Tungadi, S.H (1962-1964)

6. Mustamin Dg Matutu, S.H (1964-1967)

7. Ridwan Saleh Mattayang, S.H, (1969-1971)

8. Prof. Mr. Dr. Andi Zainal Abidin Farid (1971-1973)

9. Mustamin Dg Matutu, S.H (1973-1975)

10. Prof. Tahir Tungadi, S.H (1975-1977)

11. Prof. Agnes M. Toar, S.H., MCL (1977)

12. Mansyur Djuana, S.H (1977-1980)

13. Prof. Dr. S. R. Noor, S.H (1980-1986)

14. Prof. Dr. Achmad Manggau, S.H (1986-1988)

15. Dr. Kadir Sanusi, S.H..M.S (1988-1994)

16. Prof. Dr. Achmad Ali, S.H., M.H (1994-2002)

17. Prof. Dr. Abdul Razak, SH., MH (2002-2006)

18. Prof. Dr. Syamsul Bachri, SH., MS (2006 - 2010)

19. Prof. Dr. Aswanto, S.H., M.H., DFM (2010 - 2014)

20. Prof. Dr. Farida Patittingi, S.H., M. Hum (2014- Present)

Currently, the Faculty of Law of Hasanuddin University is led by Prof. Dr. Farida Patittingi, S.H., M.Hum. (Dean), and assisted by prof. Dr. Ahmadi Miru, S.H., M.H. (Vice Dean for Academic and Development Affairs), Dr. Syamsuddin Muchtar, S.H., M.H. (Vice Dean for Planning, Finance and Resources Affairs), and Prof. Dr. Hamzah Halim, S.H., M.H. (Vice Dean for Student and Alumni Affairs).

Based on the Rector Regulation of Hasanuddin University No. 25000 / UN4.1 / OT.10 / 2016 on the Working Organization of the Faculties and Schools of Hasanuddin University, the Faculty Organization is equipped with a Quality Assurance Taskforce led by a chairman who is under and responsible to the Dean. Currently, the Quality Assurance Taskforce of the Faculty of Law is chaired by Prof. Dr. Irwansyah (Chairman), S.H., M.H. and Dr. Hasbir, S.H., M.H. (Secretary).

Faculty of Law manages 8 (eight) Departments as the element of academic at Legal Studies Program, namely:

1. Department of Civil Law

2. Department of Criminal Law

3. Department of Constitutional Law

4. Department of International Law

5. Department of Administrative Law

6. Department of Basic Laws

7. Department of Procedural Law

8. Department of Law, Society, and Development